The Acoustical Society of America (ASA ) presents Science Communication Awards in Acoustics, which are intended to recognize excellence in the presentation of acoustics related topics to a popular audience.

Entries are submitted from the following categories:
1) Long format award (text >4,000 words; multimedia >30 minutes) from a member or nonmember
2) Short format award (text ≤4,000 words; multimedia ≤30 minutes) from a non-member
3) Short format award (text ≤4,000 words; multimedia ≤30 minutes) from a member.

Entries may be newspaper or magazine articles, TV or radio broadcasts, books, or websites that were published, broadcast, printed, or posted between specific time frames during the award year(s). Separate awards are made to a journalist and a professional in the field of acoustics.

Submissions are made by the author or any other party. For entries with multiple authors, only a single author receives the travel stipend, and the cash prize is split between all co-authors. Multiple entries by a single author were judged separately. An independent panel judges entries according to their general accessibility, relevance to acoustics, accuracy, and quality.

Each award includes a $2,500 cash prize and a $1,000 stipend to attend the awards ceremony at an upcoming national science meeting where the prizes will be presented.

Entries must be received by March 31, 2021.

Entries are submitted online.  The following entry information must be provided:

Category: journalist or acoustics professional
Name, address, email address of author/s, creator/s, producer/s (indicate senior author when applicable)
Nominator’s contact information if not a self-nomination
Title of entry and date and name of publication, host site, or broadcaster
Medium: print, online, TV or radio broadcast
Circulation: number of viewers, page views, subscribers, listeners, etc.
Description of significance of work
ASA Member ID (members only)

Share This
%d bloggers like this: