The 181st Meeting
of the Acoustical Society of America

29 November –3 December 2021

The Acoustical Society of America (ASA)  Press Room was created by the ASA Public Relations Committee to provide efficient dissemination of information regarding the Society and the field of acoustics to the news media, science writers, and other interested parties.

Media Invited to Acoustical Society of America Meeting in Seattle, Nov. 29 – Dec. 3 

Virtual and in-person press conferences showcase the latest advancements in the science of sound #ASA181

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Media Contact:
Larry Frum
AIP Media Line
301-209-3090

media@aip.org

SEATTLE, October 28, 2021 – After more than a year of virtual conferences, the Acoustical Society of America (ASA) is holding its 181st meeting in person in Seattle, Washington, at the Hyatt Regency Seattle from Nov. 29 through Dec. 3.

This major scientific conference brings together interdisciplinary groups of acoustics professionals, spanning many fields, including physics, medicine, music, psychology, wildlife biology, and engineering, to discuss the latest advancements. Follow conference highlights with social media hashtag #ASA181.

Reporters are invited to attend the meeting at no cost (see details below) and participate in a series of press conferences featuring a selection of newsworthy sessions. Reporters may view a live media webcast of the press conference online. Times and topics will be announced in the coming weeks, and journalists may register to watch the webcast live at https://live.webcastplatform.com/webcast/registration/91b0e995-d6cb-4248-99d9-0d1bc8dd62b9.

All participants at the meeting will be required to show proof of vaccination against the COVID-19 virus. Washington State policies regarding the wearing of masks will be followed during the conference.

——————— SAMPLING OF INTERESTING SESSIONS——————–

  • 1pPA7: Using Bulk acoustic waves for filtering microplastic on polluted water
  • 2aAAa6: Converting an Empty Office to a Podcast Studio
  • 2aEA1: Electric Vehicle Additive Sounds: Detection results from an outdoor test for sixteen participants.
  • 2aMUa2: Reproducible excitation of string instruments using a robotic arm
  • 3aPP2: The effect of mild dementia on speech perception in quiet and noise
  • 4aAA7: The Seattle Space Needle renovation: Acoustical design considerations and challenges at 600 feet above ground level
  • 4pED4: Comics and Acoustics Education: A Drawn Example around the Decibel

More information on these and all other meeting sessions is available here.

ASA Press Conferences Livestreamed from Seattle, Washington, Dec. 1, 2021 #ASA181
Media invited to register and attend in person or online – topics include echolocation, electric vehicle safety, microplastics, COVID-19 impacts
SEATTLE, Nov. 17, 2021 – Press conferences at the 181st Meeting of the Acoustical Society of America will be held on Dec. 1 in room 505 at the Hyatt Regency Seattle. The media availabilities will focus on wide range of newsworthy sessions at the upcoming meeting from killer whales spending more time in the Arctic Ocean to knocking over LEGO minifigures with time reversal focused vibration.

To register for in-person attendance, email media@aip.org. To watch the livestream virtually, please visit our registration page. Videos of the press conference sessions will be available by Dec. 2nd upon request.

ASA Press Conference Schedule – Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2021
12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT

  • Echolocation builds prediction models of prey movement – Angeles Salles, Johns Hopkins University
    Session 2aPP6Bats use predictive strategies to track moving auditory objects
    ASA presentation: Nov. 30 @ 1:50 p.m. ET / 10:50 a.m. PT
  • Food Paradox Answer Shows How Ocean Life Survives – Kelly Benoit-Bird, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
    Session 3pAOa1A Sound Resolution to the Food Paradox in the Sea
    ASA presentation: Dec. 1 @ 4:05 p.m. ET / 1:05 p.m. PT
  • Killer Whales Lingering in Newly Melted Arctic Ocean Brynn Kimber, University of Washington
    Session 4pAB4Tracking killer whale movements in the Alaskan Arctic relative to a loss of sea ice
    ASA presentation: Dec. 2 @ 5:35 p.m. ET / 2:35 p.m. PT
  • Filtering Microplastics Trash from Water with Acoustic Waves – Dhany Arifianto, Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember
    Session 1pPA7Using bulk acoustic waves for filtering microplastic on polluted water
    ASA presentation: Nov. 29 @ 6:10 p.m. ET / 3:10 p.m. PT

2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT

  • Blood Bubbles Report Oxygen Levels – Shashank Sirsi, University of Texas at Dallas
    Session 1aBAa2Hemoglobin Microbubbles for In Vivo Blood Oxygen Level Dependent Imaging: Boldly Moving Beyond MRI
    ASA presentation: Nov. 29, at 11:25 a.m. ET / 8:25 a.m. PT
  • Sing On: Certain Facemasks Don’t Hinder Vocalists – Thomas Moore, Rollins College
    Session 3aMUa3Aerosol propagation and acoustic effects while singing with a face mask
    ASA presentation: Dec. 1 @ 12:40 p.m. ET / 9:40 a.m. PT
  • During COVID-19 Lockdown, Emotional Wellbeing Declined for Adults with Vision, Hearing Loss – Peggy Nelson, University of Minnesota
    Session 3pID3COVID-19 effects on social isolation for older persons with sensory loss
    ASA presentation: Dec. 1 @ 6:05 p.m. ET / 3:05 p.m. PT
  • Filtering Unwanted Sounds from Baby Monitors – T. J. Flynn, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory.
    Session 4aPP8Open-Source Baby Monitor
    ASA presentation: Dec. 2 @ 1:25 p.m. ET / 10:25 a.m. PT

4:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. PT

  • Sounding Off on Seattle Space Needle Renovation – Daniel Bruck and Jaimie Penzell, BRC Acoustics
    Session 4aAA7The Seattle Space Needle renovation: Acoustical design considerations and challenges at 600 feet above ground level
    ASA presentation: Dec. 2 @ 12:55 p.m. ET / 9:55 a.m. PT
  • Adding Sound to Electric Vehicles Improves Pedestrian Safety – Michael Roan, Penn State University
    Session 2aEA1Electric Vehicle Additive Sounds: Detection results from an outdoor test for sixteen participants
    ASA presentation: Nov. 30 @ 1:25 p.m. ET / 10:25 a.m. PT
  • LEGO Down! Focused Vibrations Knock Over Minifigures – Brian Anderson, Brigham Young University
    Session 4pED3Knocking over LEGO minifigures with time reversal focused vibrations: Understanding the physics and developing a museum demonstration
    ASA presentation: Dec. 2 @ 5:15 p.m. ET / 2:15 p.m. PT

Stuttering Starts at Speech Initiation, Not Due to Impaired Motor Skills #ASA181
Theory suggests anomalies in the brain’s initiation circuit cause stuttering.

Build Your Own Office Podcast Studio #ASA181
How to convert existing office spaces into professional-sounding recording studios

———————– MORE MEETING INFORMATION ———————–
USEFUL LINKS
Main meeting website: https://acousticalsociety.org/asa-meetings/
Technical program: https://eventpilotadmin.com/web/planner.php?id=ASAFALL21
Press Room: https://acoustics.org/world-wide-press-room/
Follow conference highlights with social media hashtag #ASA181
WORLDWIDE PRESS ROOM
In the coming weeks, ASA’s Worldwide Press Room will be updated with additional tips on dozens of newsworthy stories and with lay language papers, which are 300-500 word summaries of presentations written by scientists for a general audience and accompanied by photos, audio and video. You can visit the site during the meeting at https://acoustics.org/world-wide-press-room/.
PRESS REGISTRATION
We will grant free registration to credentialed journalists and professional freelance journalists. If you are a reporter and would like to attend, contact the AIP Media Line at 301-209-3090. For urgent requests, staff at media@aip.org can also help with setting up interviews and obtaining images, sound clips, or background information.

ABOUT THE ACOUSTICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA
The Acoustical Society of America (ASA) is the premier international scientific society in acoustics devoted to the science and technology of sound. Its 7,000 members worldwide represent a broad spectrum of the study of acoustics. ASA publications include The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America (the world’s leading journal on acoustics), JASA Express Letters, Proceedings of Meetings on Acoustics, Acoustics Today magazine, books, and standards on acoustics. The society also holds two major scientific meetings each year. See https://acousticalsociety.org/.

###

Share This